Soy sauce is made from soybeans. The fermented soybean paste is made thinner by using liquid ingredients like brine to prepare the soy sauce. Even though of Chinese origin, soy sauce lately has been adapted to the whole of East and Southeast Asia. Now the use of soy sauce is almost universal. There are several versions of soy sauce, including light and dark versions, apart from thin and thick ones. Soy sauces are further classified based on different attributes. Examples are the low sodium and the less salt ones. There are also soy sauce variants specialized to use along with sushi and sashimi. Japanese tamari is a gluten free version of the soy sauce. Chinese brands Lee Kum Kee and Pearl River Bridge, Japanese Kikkoman brand, Thai brand Healthy Boy, Korean Sempio, etc are some of the few known names in the soy sauce manufacturing industry.